The FBI National Academy Associates, Inc. (FBI NAA) is a non-profit, international organization of nearly 17,000 senior law enforcement professionals dedicated to providing our communities, states, countries, and profession with the highest degree of law enforcement expertise, training, education and information.

We are the strongest law enforcement leadership network in the world and are dedicated to strengthening the rule of law around the globe.

Members are graduates of the FBI’s prestigious National Academy Program, representing all 50 states, 170 countries and over 7,500 law enforcement agencies. Over 50,000 graduates have completed the FBINA Program.

FBINAA members make up the highest 1% of all senior law enforcement in the world.  The Best of the Best.

The Association is firmly guided by its historic values and faithfulness to its values, vision and mission.



          Impacting communities by providing and promoting law enforcement leadership through training and networking.

          Continuous development of the world's strongest law enforcement leadership network.

Core Values
           Knowledge, Courage and Integrity.



It is a longstanding tradition of the FBI National Academy Associates to conduct a memorial service during the opening ceremonies of our annual conference to recognize, honor, and hold in memory our fellow graduates who passed away since our last conference. This service includes the presentation of the memory table accompanied by the presentation of names of our deceased comrades. The memory table is filled with symbolism. The table is covered with a white table cloth to symbolize the loyalty and courage with which our fellow graduates served their communities. A single rose in a vase is placed on the table to represent the family and friends left behind. A hat and badge are placed beside the rose to represent their absence and a candle is lighted to remind us that they are not forgotten.

A plaque is positioned on the table containing their session, name, and date of death.  The memory table remains on display throughout the conference for review and meditation by their family, friends, and fellow graduates who may be in attendance.   At the closing ceremonies the candle is extinguished and the memory plaque is presented to the following year’s conference representative to perpetuate their memory until that time.

It is our goal to honor our deceased graduates during the year in which they passed away. It is a tribute to them and to their families and is most unfortunate when someone is not included. However, this happens every year simply because we were not notified. You can be of valuable assistance in eliminating this situation. When you learn of the death of a fellow graduate or if it happens in your agency or family, please let us know as soon as possible so they can be included in our next memorial service. We need their name, session, and date of death. This can be accomplished by notifying your chapter secretary, our national office or by contacting me directly.

Dan Bateman, Chaplain
Phone: 810-367-8856
E-mail: dbateman@fbinaa.org


The Association’s Hall of Honor Program is intended to memorialize and pay tribute to National Academy graduates who are killed in the line of duty by adversarial action. The Hall of Honor is located at the FBI Academy, where a wall of etched stone tablets identifies our heroes and insures that their sacrifices will always be remembered. Additionally, a Hall of Honor ceremony at the FBI Academy provides the opportunity for family members, fellow National Academy graduates, friends, FBI personnel and the Association Executive Board to recognize these fallen heroes, mourn their loss, and offer comfort to their families. The Association assists with travel expenses and provides an immediate monetary death benefit to the family.

Hall of Honor Inductees

David H. McCutchen, 53rd Session
Savannah Beach, Georgia Police Department
DOD April 10, 1963

Dan A. Mitrione, 59th Session
Agency for International Development
DOD August 9, 1970

William C. Smith, 72nd Session
Kentucky State Police
DOD April 26, 1973

William K. Mortimer, Sr., 83rd Session
Dayton, Ohio Police Department
DOD March 4, 1974

Darlon “DEE” C. Dowell, 113th Session
Ventura, California Police Department
DOD August 7, 1978

G. Boris Giuliano, 101st Session
Ministry of the Interior, Rome, Italy
DOD July 21, 1979

Thomas Elroy Buntrock, 100th Session
Mequon, Wisconsin Police Department
DOD December 2, 1979

Boongoy Oonvatana, 100th Session
Thai National Police
DOD December 21, 1979

John Joseph Brown, 82nd Session
Savannah, Georgia Police Department
DOD April 14, 1981

George Leon Garrett, 124th Session
Redwood City, California Police Department
DOD May 8, 1981

John T. King, 96th Session
Georgia Bureau of Investigation
DOD September 13, 1985

John Paul Frisco, 131st Session
Windcrest, Texas Police Department
DOD December 13, 1985

John Eaton Bradshaw, 130th Session
Tempe, Arizona Police Department
DOD September 20, 1987

James Leonard Schmit, 140th Session
Detroit, Michigan Police Department
DOD October 17, 1988

David N. Wilson, 124th Session 
Payson, Arizona Police Department
DOD September 11, 1992

Gene L. Goldsberry, 87th Session 
Topeka, Kansas – Kansas Highway Patrol
DOD August 5, 1993

Michael W. Tracy, 173rd Session 
Palos Verdes Estates, California Police Department
DOD February 14, 1994

James A. Lutz, 141st Session 
Waukesha, Wisconsin Police Department
DOD April 28, 1994

Cecil Spencer Guerry, 174th Session 
Georgetown, South Carolina Police Department
DOD March 9, 1994

Lopez Umana, 175th Session 
Columbian Prosecutors Office
DOD September 5, 1997

Anthony P. Infante, Jr., 179th Session
New York Port Authority Police Department
DOD September 11, 2001

James A. Romito, 141st Session 
New York Port Authority Police Department
DOD September 11, 2001

Kim S. Orlando, 191st Session 
U.S. Army
DOD October 16, 2003

William K. Biggs, Jr., 202nd Session
Kirkwood, Missouri, Police Department
DOD February 7, 2008

Roberto Velasco Bravo, 226th Session
Federal Police Corps of the Government of Mexico City
DOD May 1, 2008

Thomas P. Tennant, 175th Session
Woodburn, Oregon Police Department
DOD December 12, 2008

Chad Reed, 238th Session 
Dixie County Sheriff's Office
DOD January 14, 2010

James W. Baber, 33rd Session
Alexandria Virginia Police Department
DOD October 19, 1962